April 2024 – Book Reviews

Welcome to the April 2024 edition of our monthly book review roundup! Despite a shorter list this month, I still managed to uncover two standout reads that have left me spellbound and wanting for more. Join me as I delve into the captivating worlds crafted by some of my favourite authors, including a heart-pounding thriller by Noelle W. Ihli, that earned a well-deserved five-star rating and the conclusion to the Crescent City Series by the incomparable Sarah J. Maas. Prepare to get lost in my April 2024 – Book Reviews. Enjoy!

April 2024 -  Book Reviews
April 2024 – Book Reviews

As an Amazon Associate, we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.  Some of the links on this post are affiliate links.  This means that if you click on the link and make a purchase we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more here.

1. Ask For Andrea – Noelle W. Ihli

Synopsis:
April 2024 - Book Reviews
April 2024 – Book Reviews – Ask For Andrea – Noelle W. Ihli

Three women, Meghan, Brecia, and Skye, share a grim connection—they were all victims of the same man’s murderous spree. Online, he lured them in with the guise of an eligible bachelor, only to end their first dates with a trip to a shallow grave. Despite three successful murders, his next victims may not be so easy to claim, as Meghan, Brecia, and Skye unite beyond the grave, determined to halt his killing spree. The hunt is on, as these women seek justice from beyond the realm of the living.

My Review:

Lately, I’ve been exploring different genres, trying to expand my reading repertoire, and seeking inspiration as I dive more deeply into my own author life. Ask For Andrea was my second supernatural read, and oh my what a ride of a story.

Noelle West Ihli delivered a fast-paced page-turner with “Ask For Andrea,” surpassing all expectations. Not only did it keep me hooked until the early hours of the morning, but the storytelling also evoked unexpected emotions. It’s a testament to the author’s skill that I felt so emotionally connected to the characters.

As the story of the three murdered young women unfolded, I found myself deeply attached to each character. I shed tears for them, felt anger on their behalf, and cheered them on, despite knowing their fate. It’s remarkable how I could feel so connected even to the character of a ghost, proving that there’s always room for new experiences.

Ever since I finished reading this book, I’ve been busy recommending it to everyone on my contacts list who loves reading, and now I’m recommending it to you. This gripping tale will linger in your thoughts long after you’ve turned the final page.

2. Heartless – Elsie Silver

Synopsis:
April 2024 - Book Reviews
April 2024 Book Reviews –
Heartless by Elsie Silver

Willa Grant thought that working as a nanny for the world’s grumpiest single dad should have been simple enough. The problem is, she can’t keep her eyes off him, and as it turns out, he can’t keep his hands off of her. 

Cade Eaton is thirteen years older than Willa, and while initially it feels as though he can barely stand to look at her, everything changes one night when they both end up playing a game of truth and dare, while in the hot tub. After that all bets are off, and so are their clothes.

Willa realizes too late that ruggedly handsome, broad-shouldered ranchers with filthy mouths happen to be her kryptonite.  As hard as she tries, resisting Eaton is proving to be a challenge in itself, especially because in their quiet moments together, he lets down his guard. That hardened exterior that Cade wears for the world, is just a facade, and Willa has never felt more cherished than when she is in his arms.

Her work contract might state that this arrangement is only for two months, but her heart says it’s forever.

My Review:

This book contains all of my favourite tropes neatly packed into 476 pages. It’s got it all: single parent, small-town charm, grumpy meets sunshine, a significant age gap, and to top it off, an adorable five-year-old boy. And let’s not forget Cade, the scrumptious cowboy. I’ve said it before (in my review of book 1) and I’ll say it again, I’m definitely in my cow-boy era. Yeehaw!!!

A few months back, I ventured into the world of Chestnut Springs, seeking an easy read filled with some smut and romance included. Initially, I thought I’d just give Book One a shot, probably with no intention of continuing the series. After all, when reading these romance books, all set in the same world,  it often feels like you are reading the same story, but with different characters. However, I found myself drawn back to Chestnut Springs, and surprisingly, I loved Heartless even more than Flawless. Maybe it’s because of the grumpy-meets-sunshine, age gap dynamic? Perhaps.

The chemistry between Willa and Cade was spot on. I loved reading their story and experiencing the character development. Especially Cade’s, who initially was portrayed as the hardened asshole single father.  Willa’s narrative was absolutely hilarious. 

Heartless turned out to be an effortless read, with minimal world-building, which is what I needed when I picked it up. Their story made me smile and laugh out loud. A very enjoyable read indeed. 

3. If You Don’t Love Me We Both Die – C.M Stunich

Synopsis:
April 2024 - Book Reviews
April 2024 Book Reviews – If you don’t love me we both die by C.M Stunich

Megastar Tam Eyre finds himself perplexed by a crumpled note thrown at his head: ‘If you don’t love me, we both die.’

Meanwhile, Lakelynn Frost, a bubble-tea-obsessed college girl, has a daunting challenge ahead: she has 365 days to make the world’s most famous pop star fall in love with her, or an old family curse will seal their fate.

However, there’s a catch – she can’t even get tickets to his sold-out concerts. Undeterred, she ponders her options: chase after him with only her grumbly brother Joules for company? Check off items on her bucket list like Uncle Jack? Or plan her own funeral like Aunt Clara?

But Lake is determined, a fighter through and through. And this curse? Well, it comes with magical meet-cutes. Worth a try?

My Review:

With a title like ‘If You Don’t Love Me We Both Die,’ there was no way I could pass up the chance to read this book. The striking cover only added to its appeal. However, the daunting prospect of its 900+ pages meant I had to set aside other books on my April TBR list to tackle this behemoth. Was it worth it? I believe so.

The premise was captivating, and the plot was cleverly crafted. Yet, in my opinion, it was about 300 pages too long. Around the 600-page mark, I found myself urging the story to progress. Nonetheless, it held my interest enough which kept me turning the pages.

What truly tested my patience, however, was the immature behaviour of the two main characters. There was an abundance of eye-rolling on my part. I won’t delve into specifics to avoid spoilers, but if you do read this book and encounter a moment (or two) that leaves you screaming “WHAT?????” Please message me so we can discuss it! The words “unbelievable” and “what the hell is wrong with you” come to mind.

4. House Of Flame And Shadow – Sarah J Maas (Crescent City 3) – Spoilers Ahead

Synopsis:
April 2024 - Book Reviews
April 2024 Book Reviews – House of Flame and Shadow by Sarah J Maas

In Sarah J. Maas’ thrilling sequel to the best-selling “House of Earth and Blood” and “House of Sky and Breath,” the Crescent City series escalates to new heights as Bryce Quinlan and Hunt Athalar find themselves facing unprecedented challenges. 

Bryce, a Midgard native, never anticipated venturing beyond her familiar world, but now, stranded in an unfamiliar realm, her sole desire is to return home. With her loved ones and everything she holds dear in Midgard, navigating this strange new world becomes an arduous task, especially when trust is a rare commodity.

Hunt, no stranger to adversity, finds himself in one of the deepest predicaments of his life. Despite a fleeting taste of happiness, he now languishes in the dungeons of Asteri, his freedom curtailed and his knowledge of Bryce’s whereabouts nonexistent.

As the stakes soar and their world teeters on the brink of collapse, Bryce and Hunt must confront their dire circumstances. With the weight of the future resting squarely on their shoulders, their journey unfolds in a spellbinding narrative of danger, desire, and determination.

My Review:

Sarah J. Maas consistently delivers gripping narratives, and “House of Shadow and Flame” the conclusion to her Crescent City series is no exception. Her books are always fast-paced, action-packed, and emotionally charged, with intricately woven plots that keep readers hooked.

What I particularly loved about this book was its seamless crossover with ACOTAR and the compelling dynamics between the characters. Unlike some readers who anticipate steamy scenes, I appreciated the focus on the storyline and its direction. Thank you, Sarah!

A highlight for me was the subtle references to Maas’ other series, Throne of Glass. The meticulous planning and integration of multiple storylines across her books are truly remarkable. Maas has a knack for tying everything together seamlessly, making for an immersive and captivating reading experience.

Sharing Is Caring:

Related Articles You Might Enjoy:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Verified by MonsterInsights